Launch of Khola Baksho 2008

‘Kalam: Margins Write’ cordially invites you to the launch of its annual literary magazine

Khola Baksho, 2008 Issue 2

April 12 2008, 5pm

Worldview Bookstore, Jadavpur University Campus
Subarna Jayanti Bhawan
188 Raja S C Mullick Road, Kolkata- 700 032

An annual magazine published under the initiative of Kalam:Margins Write, Khola Baksho is a platform for young people living in the urban margins of Kolkata (railway platforms, slums, red light areas and shelter homes) to share stories, reflections and artwork from their everyday lives. Khola Baksho started out with the belief that, instead of being defined by the world in many ways, the margins need to speak for themselves.

4 Responses to “Launch of Khola Baksho 2008”


  1. 1 pooja April 12, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Hey guys,

    This is great news! Wish you all the best for today’s launch. I sincerely wish I could be there with all of you…
    COngratulations for another issue – i’m sure it’s going to be fabulous! Congrats.

  2. 2 Monidipa April 20, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    congratulations :)

    i had loved the first anthology of kalam. where can i get this one?

  3. 3 Sahar April 23, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Hi Monidipa,

    So glad you enjoyed our first literary magazine. You can get this year’s issue from our office. Call Urbi or Nargis on our office number, 033 6457 5657.

    Thanks so much for your support!
    Sahar

  4. 4 michael June 24, 2008 at 5:57 am

    Hi!

    I love what you do. If the piles and piles of books we pore over amount to anything, it’s this: this explosion of creative expression and critical understanding. It’s love itself.

    I’m an American student of literature and critical theory, but I’ll be in the country from July onwards visiting family with my best friend Poorva, a Bangalore girl whose story took her to Pune and, like mine, to Maine. I understand well my linguistic limitations, as well as the danger of (re)inscribing certain power dynamics with (especially) kids, but I believe in the power of your project to work through and past these limitations. Although I planned to leave India in late August, I planned to leave for an internship–a pursuit (and for better or worse, degree requirement) which has yet to materialize, not because nothing’s out there or because I’m so picky, but because nothing so far has felt right. Very simply. The narrative has yet to come together, but already I’d like for it to come undone–with all of you.

    In other words, I’m available from September through November or December. :D According to my university, College of the Atlantic (coa.edu), I must spend at least 10 weeks interning; that’s my only requirement. The rest is in the air, but of course there’s email for that. (Get in touch and I’ll send you my CV. I’ve also studied at Central European University in Budapest, written for a literary arts publication, co-edited a ‘zine of College social commentary, and interned as a Young Playwright-In-Residence–the Required List of Relevant Things). Thanks for your attention, and my very best,

    Michael


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

